Debates, small towns and voting

I’ve had a number of surprising interactions with people regarding the proposed bond vote. People who I know are very active, whose kids have played sports, who have driven 30 miles so their kids can practice indoors, have said they’re voting no. I’ve had people I consider friends ask me questions about it, listen to me explain the way in which it will operate, and basically say, “Well, that’s what you say.” ┬áIt’s been a struggle when people tell me they don’t believe what I’m saying, but then tell me to not take it personally or be offended. It’s been a learning experience, and I know for people on both sides of the issue it’s been a passionate debate and election.

At this point, I think it’s just an important reminder that we all still live in the same town. We are still part of the same team. As the FYSA, we worked toward what we believed to be something that would benefit the entire community on a number of levels. We believe this is a need. We know others believe it is a want or even something less. I do think, though, that we considered this a referendum. At least as a collective group, FYSA does not plan to attempt this project or a variation of this project again.

Small towns are great. Everyone knows everyone else. We bump into each other at Kroger, at church, going for walks in the morning. Today, the day after the vote, it is still the same small town. If you voted yes, thank you. If you voted no, we obviously would have preferred yes, but thank you. We appreciate everyone who voted. We should be proud of our voter turnout.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Debates, small towns and voting

  1. MJ says:

    Bummer! I was planning on losing 20 pounds at the new facility!!!

  2. Lynne Parlberg says:

    Thanks for all the hard work that everyone put into this project. It is too bad that people are so mistrustful of other people and businesses in their own communities. Its also sad that they do not understand simple economics..

Leave a Reply

